On the Edge of the Weird – by Patrick Jordan

 

On the Edge of the Weird

 

I’m different.

I know that.

I do not, and will not

fucking conform.

I despise the status quo.

Normal?

Normal can kiss my Irish ass.

I’m weird.

I’m strange.

So what.

I smile.

I laugh.

I enjoy this life.

I don’t live the way I was taught to.

I make up my own rules.

I behave weirdly.

I’m not normal or average.

Fuck the ordinary average guy.

I’m Extraordinary.

I find assurance on the edge.

I find the edge my friend.

My confidant.

The edge is my lover.

My mate.

My partner.

And I fucking push it

whenever I can.

I teeter out there on the edge.

I make the edge my home.

Those that are scared of the edge,

are dead.

Dried up inside.

Useless souls.

I’m Alive!

I’m Free.

The strangest thing is,

I’m this way all the time.

I was born like this.

I live like this.

And hopefully,

I’ll die like this.

This is not an act.

This is not a game.

This is not pretend.

This is me.

This is not hyperbole.

 

The weirdness and the edge

are my heart and soul.

I don’t know how to live any other way.

I wouldn’t want to either.

I love myself.

I love my weird, strange, kooky, quirky self.

 

It’s what does it for me.

 

And it always will.

 

-Paddy- 10/10/16

 

By Patrick Jordan

Listen to On the Edge of the Weird by p jo #np on #SoundCloud

Leave a Reply

